Rock Raiders Novelization?

Rock Raider Obsidian

Rock Raider Obsidian

Hello, everyone!

This is my first post. I just found this site not too long ago, after trying to figure out how to make Rock Raiders work on my computer. I had no idea there was still such an active community this many years after the release of the game. Pretty much no one I've met has played it.

I played it a LOT growing up and love it so much.

So the point of this post, beyond saying hey to the community, is to try and get a feel for the question of: would anyone be interested in reading a novelization of Rock Raiders? I'm a self-published author who makes my living writing books and I still have a great love of fan fiction, since it's where I got my start. If I undertook a novelization of the game, would anyone be interested?

Thanks for reading!

-Obsidian

• Like 3

Welcome to RRU!

Yeah, a Rock Raiders novelization would definitely be interesting. As far as characterization goes, you would probably have a lot of leeway to develop the crew as you wish (please have one of the focal characters be Generic Rock Raider #0937). Perhaps you could give us a taste of your writing style before committing to a major project like that, such as through sharing a draft of the first chapter or a short story. 

Looking forward to reading more from you!

• Like 2

The Ace Railgun

I'd take a look at that short book that came out as well, "Race For Survival" I think it was called, If you can acquire it.

• Like 1

It'd be awesome to read a novelization of the game! I'd feel like a kid again.

11 hours ago, Rock Raider Obsidian said:

I had no idea there was still such an active community this many years after the release of the game. Pretty much no one I've met has played it.

I played it a LOT growing up and love it so much.

Same here! It's great to see that there are other people out there who love this game. The very existence of this forum got me back into Rock Raiders.

Rock Raider Obsidian