Computer Hardware Assistance (General)

Fluffy Cupcake

Fluffy Cupcake

For ponz: http://www.rockraidersunited.com/topic/6928-computer-hardware-assistance-for-ponz/?do=findComment&comment=120981

So after nearly being that idiot who buys himself something expensive without much research (because I want something better than crappy stock graphics card =P), I realized I didn't actually have a way to power the card...? I didn't see any free PCI-e 6 or 8-pin connectors which practically all cards use either today, so I'd like to know, is it actually possible for me to put in any graphics card in my PCI-e slot and get it working? I'm a hardware newbie so excuse my lack of knowledge on this.

This is what my the inside of my computer looks like (don't mind the dust =P)

IMG_20151215_042334131.jpg

450 Watt ATX Power Supply

Here's a closeup of my motherboard, which has two free Sata slots (green boxes), I'm not sure if those can be used or anything(?): IMG_20151215_042741452.jpg

Other than that I don't know really what to say or give (more pictures? A live video?)

I wrote you via Skype, but I think it's better to post my stuff here again since that way other people can also read it and add their thoughts.

-there are graphics cards, that are faster than your current card and don't need an external power supply (the pcie 6 or 8 pin connectors, you have mentioned). A pcie x16 slot can supply up to 75 watts (you need the cables only for the more demanding cards). Here is a bunch of cards (the link only serves as an example), that you can choose from, if you don't have an external power supply cable (although there are adapters to solve that problem): https://skinflint.co.uk/?cat=gra16_512&bpmax=120&v=e&hloc=uk&filter=update&bl1_id=30&sort=t&xf=5586_aktiv~147_1~5585_ohne~24_75~132_1024#xf_top