Black screen on startup

theheadhunter444

theheadhunter444

It's my first time installing Rock Raiders on my new computer. It's installed but when I start up the game theres nothing but a black screen. The sound for the Lego logo plays but after that theres nothing. According to task manager the game stops responding about halfway through the sound playing. Any sugestions? I am running this on Windows 7 64 bit.

A Lego Logo sound?

From what I remember there is no Lego Splash screen on the PC version, weird...

...Just a suggestion, but maybe you should lower the 64 Bit colour to either 32 or 16 Bit, but only when playing Lego Rock Raiders. You'd probably want to change it back when you are finished with playing LRR.

In-case you don't know where to change the Bit colour, open the spoiler below and follow it;

Right click on an empty part of your Desktop

Click "Screen Resolution"

Go to "Advanced settings" (Tip; "Advanced settings" is not a button, but as words written in Blue which you can click on)

Go to the "Monitor" tab in the new pop-up

Change "64 Bit" to either "32 Bit" or "16 Bit"

Click "Apply"

Close down the settings pop-ups

Run LRR

Give me a shout if it didn't work.

Same thing. The sound plays for the splash screen and nothing else.

Hrm...

...What version of LRR are you launching (as there are three; Standard, Enhanced and "Lego Rock Raiders")?

On 1/27/2015 at 5:07 PM, theheadhunter444 said:

It does the same thing for all three.

When you open LRR, do you get a pop-up named "Mode Selection" (it SHOULD come up when you launch "Lego Rock Raiders", not the Enhanced or Standard versions.

In the "Device selection" part of the pop-up, is there a selection other than "Direct 3D HAL"? If there is, select that and click "okay" to close the pop-up and start LRR.

If this doesn't work then could someone else figure it out? I'm all out of ideas at this stage.

From what I remember there is no Lego Splash screen on the PC version, weird...