Tutorial: Working with start- and power-up positions

RobExplorien

Understanding the .SPB (startposition) and .PWB (power-up position) files in the LEGO.JAM

This is my first attempt into creating a tutorial for LEGO Racers.  The tutorial is more like an explanation of the files, and serves to help you on your modding with these files. I already know that many on this forum know how to work with the .SPB and .PWB files, but to those few who just started modding and run into some issues, here it is anyway. I am not going to explain how to extract the LEGO.JAM or how to open the **B-files, that is explained on other topics. However, I can give you a link to the >JAM-extractor and the >Binaryfile-editor. Ofcourse, position-editing has become much easier with grappigegovert's >In-game coördinate viewer, but really understanding what you change will be told here. Remember, before modding, make a back-up of the original LEGO.JAM.

When having the JAM-file extracted, you'll end up with a map containing the subfolders: GAMEDATA and MENUDATA. What you want is the former. Opening GAMEDATA will show a list of more folders. Any of the RACEC*R* folders will have an .SPB and .PWB file, as well as the folder TEST. These folders contain all sorts of data about each track in the game. For example; RACEC0R0 = Royal Knights Raceway, RACEC0R1 = Imperial Grand Prix, TEST = Test Track. Navigate through the folder until you bump into either one of the binaryfiles.

.SPB file

Opening an .SPB file with the binaryfile-editor will give you code lines like these:

k_27
[6]
{
 k_27
 {
  k_28
  (float)379.492
  (float)210.5133
  (float)0.065082
  k_29
  (float)0.008727
  (float)0.999962
  (float)0
  (float)0
  (float)0
  (float)1
 }